Guest - Member Global Message

This is the Header Alert Global Message description. This message can be changed in your themes acp.

Hero
MyImageName

Banner 1 Title

MyImageName

Banner 2 Title

MyImageName

Banner 3 Title

SilenceFriction

[JAN-2017 K.O.T.M] Faded Glory - Mapex Pro M

Here is a project that I have been progressing for about two years. I bought a used maroon Mapex Pro M kit at Tacoma Guitar Center, and began working on the paint project in spring 2015. Having limited resources from a fixed income, the lacquer project extended into cold humid weather, which postponed it's completion. Spring of 2016 I was able to complete the color portion of the project, but unable to continue with the clear coat.

The drums were sanded to bare wood, interiors masked, and painted white lacquer. The white was masked and the red stripes were applied, re-masked and  the blue was applied. The red and blue colors are micro flake added to clear lacquer, not a colored paint. The application of white micro flake to the stars and white stripes, required much masking time.

It may be hard to notice in the pics, but I tried to present a gradual faded effect across the set, with the 10" tom being the most faded. This graduation is more apparent in person.

This is my live kit, so I am hoping to complete the clear coat this spring. A deep clear coat should bring out the shine of the flake colors much better, while adding luster also.

I haven't painted the snare drum, as I wish to replace it.

When it's all said and done, more gets said than done.

007.JPG

006.JPG

kit4.jpg

kit7.jpg

kit5.jpg

kit6.jpg

kit3.jpg

kit1.jpg

• Upvote 1